President Barack Obama to Address Latinos on the Affordable Care Act as Enrollment Deadline Nears


Spanish-language Media Giants Join Forces to Host Town Hall

The Asegúrate campaign, a Latino outreach and enrollment effort of The California Endowment in partnership with Univision, Telemundo, and impreMedia, will host a town hall with President Barack Obama on Thursday, March 6. The unprecedented event is part of the campaign’s “Countdown to Coverage,” a broad effort that includes media, national Latino organizations and community partners to engage Latinos about the Affordable Care Act during the last month of open enrollment.

There are approximately 10.2 million eligible, but uninsured Latinos nationwide, according to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Of the millions of Latinos who are eligible, most qualify for discounted health care coverage.

Latinos make up 17 percent of the population, yet they are nearly a third of the uninsured in the U.S. and nearly 60 percent of the uninsured in California. The California Endowment developed the Asegúrate media partnership to reach the millions of low-income, uninsured Latinos in California and get them enrolled into health coverage.

The one-hour event, “Tu Salud y La Nueva Ley: Conversación con el Presidente” will be streamed live on the media partners websites and at WhiteHouse.gov. The town hall will be televised on March 8 on Univision’s Galavision network and on Telemundo with portions shared on MSN Latino. It will also be broadcast on Univision America radio.

The town hall will be co-hosted by Jose Diaz-Balart, news anchor of “Noticias Telemundo” and host of “Enfoque con Jose Diaz-Balart”; Enrique Acevedo co-anchor of “Noticiero Univision Edición Nocturna”; and Maryl Celiz, content director at impreMedia for the Asegúrate campaign.

During the first half hour, President Obama will answer questions about the law and its impact on the community. The second half of the program will feature expert panelists:

    —  Mayra Alvarez, Director of Public Health Policy in the Office of Health
        Reform at the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
    —  Annette Raveneau, National Latino Press Secretary and Regional
        Communications Director at Enroll America
    —  Clarissa Martinez, Director of Civic Engagement and Immigration at
        National Council of La Raza
    —  Yándary Zavala, Communications Project Manager, Voto Latino
    —  Maria Beltran, California Outreach Coordinator for Young Invincibles
To join the conversation follow @Calendow_Here, @UniNoticias, @UniAsegurate, @LaOpinionLA, @eldiariony, @TelemundoNews and @Telemundo #TuSaludyObama #Asegurate

Event: Tu Salud y La Nueva Ley: Conversación con el Presidente (Your Health and the New Law: A Conversation with the President”)

Date: March 6, 2014

Time: 11:30 a.m. EST/8:30 a.m. PST

Location: Newseum, 555 Pennsylvania Ave. N.W., Washington, D.C.

Live Web Cast:  Thursday, March 6

11:30 a.m. EST/10:30 a.m. CST/8:30 a.m. PST*

Univision http://noticias.univision.com/en-vivo

Fusion http://fusion.net/leadership/story/obamacare-town-hall-469333

Telemundo  http://telemundo.com/noticiasenvivo

impreMedia http://www.laopinion.com/lasaludempiezaaqui

*Web links will be live at time of event

Broadcast: Saturday, March 8

Galavision at 7 p.m. EST/6 p.m. CST/7 p.m. PST

Telemundo at 8 p.m. EST/7 p.m. CST/8 p.m. PST

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s